

Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur Senate Undergraduate Committee

SUGC/2023-24/Minutes/5th Date: December 27, 2023

Minutes of the 2023-24/5th Meeting of the SUGC held on Tuesday, December 26, 2023, at 10:30 AM in Room No. 208, Academic Affairs Building, IIT Kanpur

The following SUGC members were present:

Prof(s): Anjan K. Gupta, Manoj K. Harbola, G. M. Kamath (acting DUGC, AE), TG Gopakumar (acting DUGC, CHM), Jayant K. Singh (acting DUGC, CHE), Arghya Das (acting DUGC, CE), Raghunath Tewari (acting DUGC, CSE), Ark Verma, Amar Agarwal, Arshad Rahman, Alok Ranjan Verma, S. T. Roy (acting DUGC, HSS), Suman Saurabh, S. Ghorai (acting DUGC, MTH), Sarang Ingole, and Supratik Banerjee.

Student nominees to SUGC: Siddhant Suresh Jakhotiya, Kinshuk Siyol, and Sahil Panjwani (acting).

The following members were absent:

Prof(s). Sai Prasad Pydi, Sapam Ranjita Chanu, Anindya Chatterjee, Pritam Chakraborty, Mainak Das, Amarendra Edpuganti, Omar Amitesh, Niraj Sinha, Sunay Chhajed, and Shruti Dalvi.

At the outset, the Chairperson, SUGC, welcomed the present members and subsequently after the following announcement and Action Taken Report (ATR), the agenda items were taken up for discussion:

	A. Announcement
No Announcements	
	B. Noting Items

Item No. 1 To note the decision on the course/credit(s) waiver request of Mr. Abhimanyu Sethia (190023/BS-MTH/DM-CSE) to fulfill his graduation requirement

The committee noted the decision of SUGC on the course/credit waiver request of Mr. Abhimanyu Sethia (190023) to consider an optional course UGP4 (MTH394A) as a Department Elective (DE) course.

C. New Business

Item No. 2 Consideration of students' re-appeal against rejection of their appeal by the Senate.

The committee discussed the students' re-appeal against rejection of their respective appeal and after adequate consideration, a recommendation based on consideration of departments has been forwarded to the Senate for final approval. A list of students is enclosed:

SI.	Roll No. Name of the Student Prog. Dept		Dont	Rec	ommendations		
No.	KOII NO.	Name of the Student	Prog.	Dept.	CS	DUGC	SUGC
1.	210187	ARNAV SINGH	BT	CE	NS	R	R
2.	210927	SANTANU RAJ	BT	CE	R	R	R
3.	200725	PRINCE YADAV	BT	CHE	NS	R	R
4.	200293	CHATLA SOWMYA SRI	BT	CSE	R	R	R
5.	160511	PRAVESH SINGH	BT	ME	NS	R	NR
6.	190064	ADITYA NEELABH	ВТ	ME	R	R	R
7.	200302	D RAKHU RAMI	BS	PHY	NS	R	R

NS = No specific feedback.

R = Recommended

NR = Not recommended

The above recommendation of the SUGC has been forwarded to the Senate for further consideration.

Item No. 3	Consideration	of	students'	appeal	against	termination	of	their	respective
	programme.								

The committee discussed the students' appeal against termination of their respective programmes, and after adequate consideration, a recommendation based on the consideration of departments has been forwarded to the Senate for approval. A list of students is enclosed.

SI.	Roll No.	Name of the Student	Drog	Dept	t Recommend		dations	
No.	Koli No.	Name of the Student	Prog.	•	CS	DUGC	SUGC	
1.	16807746	TAYADE AKHILESH KISHOR	DUAL	BSBE	NS	R	R	
2.	18807843	VAIBHAV SUKHDEV ANAND	DUAL	BSBE	NS	R	R	
3.	210089	AKSHAJ MAURYA	ВТ	CE	NS	R	R	
4.	211206	YOGESH SRIVASTAVA	ВТ	CE	NS	R	R	
5.	180755	SHUBHI VERMA	ВТ	CHE	R	R	R	
6.	210385	GAURAV	ВТ	CHE	R	R	R	
7.	211436	NAYAN RAMESHRAO THAKRE	M.Sc2Yr	СНМ	NS	NR	NR	

^{** =} Recommendations not received from the Department

8.	19817831	SHUBHAM JANGID	DUAL	СНМ	R	R	R
9.	150082	ALAJANGI ROHAN SATVIK	ВТ	CSE	NS	R	R
10.	160354	KUNDAN GURJAR	ВТ	CSE	R	R	R
11.	160704	SPOORTHI S L	ВТ	CSE	NS	R	R
12.	170353	KUMAR GOURAV SONGARA	ВТ	CSE	NS	R	R
13.	180247	DIKSHANT RAJ MEENA	ВТ	CSE	NS	R	R
14.	190052	ADARSH VERMA	ВТ	CSE	NS	R	R
15.	190053	ADHIRAJ SINHA	ВТ	CSE	NS	NR	NR
16.	200320	DEVESH MEENA	ВТ	EE	R	R	R
17.	211176	VISHAL RANJAN	ВТ	EE	NS	R	NR
18.	170616	SAMARTH SINGH	BS	ES	NR	R	R
19.	180087	ANIL DOODHWAL	BS	ES	R	NR	NR
20.	170723	SUBHAM KUMAR	ВТ	ME	NS	R	R
21.	190040	ABHISHEK MEENA	ВТ	ME	NS	R	NR
22.	180622	ROHIT ANAKIYA	ВТ	MSE	NS	R	R
23.	180504	PARVEEN ANGURALA	BS	MTH	NS	NR	NR
24.	211048	SOHAN LAL SAINI	BS	MTH	NS	NR	NR
25.	19817371	HARSHIT TIWARI	DUAL	MTH	NS	R	R
26.	19817606	POOJA SAINI	DUAL	MTH	NS	R	R
27.	19817913	TSERING YOUDON	DUAL	MTH	NS	R	R
28.	191141	SINCHAN MANDAL	M.Sc2Yr	PHY	NS	R	R

NS = No specific feedback.

R = Recommended

NR = Not recommended

The above recommendation of the SUGC has been forwarded to the Senate for further consideration.

Item No. 4	To note the waiver request of Mr. Harshit Tiwari (190370/BT/BSBE) that to be
	forwarded to the Senate

The committee noted the decision of SUGC to send the course/credit waiver request of Mr. Harshit to consider extra Open Elective course towards SO/ESO credits requirement to the Senate with the negative recommendation of the SUGC.

^{** =} Recommendations not received from the Department

Item No. 5	To consider Double Major application of the Y20 BT/BS students at the end of 2023-
	24-I semester

The committee discussed the recommendation of the departments on the request of students to opt Double Major and after due deliberations, the committee approved recommendation of the departments. Further, based on the seats, CPI, and preferences, the following 5 students out of 9 are approved for the Double Major in PHASE-1.

S. No.	Roll No.	Name of the Student	Parent Dept.	Second Major In
1	200185	ARMEET SINGH LUTHRA	CHE	CSE
2	200327	DHARMENDRA	BSBE	SDS
3	200690	PRABHU DAYAL YADAV	CE	ECO
4	200738	PULKIT DHAMIJA	ECO	SDS
5	201080	VAISHALI RAWAT	CHE	CSE

The request of Mr. SYED QAYEM MEHDI (201038) is under process at the department level. An office order will be issued post completion of the formalities and approval of the SUGC under PHASE-2.

Anjan K Gupta Chairperson, SUGC

Copy to: Dean of Academic Affairs (for information)