Tel.: +91-512-259 7954, 259 7823 Fax: +91-512-259 0534

Email: sugc@iitk.ac.in; vidtan@iitk.ac.in

भारतीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान, कानपुर

INDIAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KANPUR P.O.: I.I.T., Kanpur 208 016, Uttar Pradesh, India

शैक्षिक विभाग : पूर्वस्नातक शाखा

ACADEMIC SECTION: UNDERGRADUATE OFFICE

Chairperson, SUGC

1st February, 2018

To

All Members of the SUGC

MINUTES OF THE 2017-2018/3rd MEETING HELD ON 30th DECEMBER, 2017 AT 9.30 PM IN QIP CONFERENCE ROOM (ACADEMIC AFFAIRS BUILDING)

MEMBERS PRESENT

SUGC Members:

1. Dr. Rajiv Shekhar (**Chairman**) (MSE)

2. Dr. Sanjay Kumar (AE)

3. Dr. Nitin Gupta) (BSBE)

4. Dr. Raghvendra Singh (in place of Dr. Anurag 11. Dr. Rajiv Shekhar (MSE) Tripathi) (CHE)

5. Dr. Debabrata Goswami (CHM)

6. Dr. Arghya Das (in place of Dr. Sudib Kumar Mishra (CE),

7. Dr. Nitin Saxena (CSE)

Special Invitee: Dr. Arbind K. Lal

Student Representatives:

1. Mr. Abhishek Jain

3. Mr. Kunal Kapila

8. Dr. K. Vasudevan (EE)

9. Dr. Vimal Kumar (ECO)

13. Dr. Malay K. Das (ME)

10. Dr. Suchitra Mathur (HSS)

12. Dr. Sameer L. Chavan (MTH)

2. Mr. Pratyush Rai (in place of Mr. Siddhant Naik)

MEMBERS REQUESTED FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Nil

MEMBERS ABSENT

1. Dr. Naren Naik (PSE)

2. Dr. R. G. Pala (MSP)

3. Dr. Aditya H Kelkar (NET)

4. Dr. Deepu Philip (DES)

5. Dr. Manoj K. Harbola (Ex-Officio) (PHY)

- 6. Dr. G.M. Kamath (Senate Nominee) (AE)
- 7. Dr. Animesh Mandal) (ES)
- 8. Dr. Subhas C Misra (IME)

At the outset the Chairman, SUGC, welcomed all the members present, and subsequently, the agenda was taken up for discussion.

Item No. 1: Announcement, if any

There was no specific announcement.

Item No. 2: Consideration of the request of Mr. Prajjwal Kushwaha (170479) a BT student of CHE Department to remove `F' Grade which has been awarded for the course CHM101A

Request of Mr. Prajjwal Kushwaha (170479) for removing of `F' grade which awarded for the course CHM101A (Chemistry Laboratory) was considered by the SUGC. Since Mr. Kushwaha is a PwD student, he was not allowed to attend the lab course due to safety measure for handling the chemical, it was suggested that a Standing Committee of the SUGC may be constituted consisting of at least 3 members of the SUGC and two members from the PwD Cell. The said standing committee will find out the way how to adjust the academic requirements of those course(s) which cannot be completed due to physical disabilities by substituting with other academic curriculum/activities. After discussion, the suggestion was accepted by the committee and Chairman, SUGC was requested to constitute a sub-committee. Accordingly, the sub-committee was constituted by consisting of the following members:

Dr. Debabrata Goswami (Convener)

Dr. Sanjay Kumar

Dr. Nitin Gupta

Dr. Rajiv Shekhar

Mr. Kumal Kapila

Mr. Pratyush Rai

Item No. 3: Constitution of a Standing Committee of the SUGC for evolving a mechanism for those students, who are academically deficient and to suggest the appropriate remedial measures for improvement of their academic performance.

It was apprised that a committee was constituted by the SUGC in its 2015-16/2nd meeting held on 30th October, 2017 for finding out the ways and means on remedial program for academically deficient students. Since no remedial program is existed in the Institute for the academically deficient students, it was suggested that a Standing Committee may be constituted for evolving a mechanism for those students, who are academically deficient and to suggest the appropriate remedial measures for improvement of their academic performance. After discussion, the suggestion was accepted by the committee and Chairman, SUGC was requested to constitute a sub-committee. Accordingly, the sub-committee was constituted by consisting of the following members:

Dr. Suchitra Mathur (Convener)

Dr. G. M. Kamat

Dr. Vimal Kumar

Dr. Rajiv Shekhar

Mr. Kunal Kapila

Mr. Abhishek Jain

Item No. 4: Consideration of the requests of the students to allow them to proceed to other institute/university as a non-degree students through exchange program for pursuing their course work.

Requests of the following two students for allowing them to proceed to other Institute/University as a non-degree student through exchange program for pursuing their course work during 2017-18-II semester was considered by the committee:

Sl. No.	Roll No.	Name of the student	Deptt.	Program	Name of the Institute/University and External Co-supervisor and Institute
1.	150445	Neeraj Yadav	MTH	BS	EPFL, Switzerland
2.	150789	Vaibhav	CE	BT	Ecole Centrale Nantes, France
		Singh			

Since all the eligibility criteria have been fulfilled by the students, it was decided by the committee that the requests of the student will be accepted.

Item No. 5: Consideration of the request of the students to allow them to complete the course requirement of the Minor in Artificial Intelligence instead of the existing courses of the Minor in Machine Learning.

Requests of the following students to allow them to complete the course requirement of the Minor in Artificial Intelligence instead of the existing courses of the Minor in Machine Learning was considered by the committee:

- Aniket Maiti (14096)
- Lavanya Taneja (14353)
- Naman Kumar Gupta (14412)

Since the proposal of CSE Department for reformulating the Minor "Artificial Intelligence" by changing the nomenclature of the Minor as "Machine Learning and Applications" was accepted by the Senate in its 493 (2016-17/4th) meeting held on 16th December, 2016 (i.e., at the end of 2016-17-I semester) by that time some of the 2014 batch students, who had opted Minor in "Artificial Intelligence" had cleared the courses prescribed for Minor in "Artificial Intelligence", it was decided that not only the request of the above cited students will be accepted but also other students of 2014 batch who have opted the same minor in Artificial Intelligence

Item No. 6: Consideration of the appeals of those students whose academic programs have been terminated at the end of 2017-18-I semester due to inadequate academic performance and non-academic reasons

The committee was apprised that as per the recommendations of the Academic Performance Evaluation Committee (APEC) academic programme of 55 students have been terminated due to inadequate academic performance or any other reasons at the end of 2017-18-I semester. Out of 55 terminated students, 46 students have submitted their appeals for reinstatement.

In addition of that an appeal has been received from Mr. Lakavath Someshwar (160358) a BT student of EE department whose academic program was terminated due to unauthorized absence in 2016-17-II semester for consideration.

Appeals of 47 students were considered by the committee case-to-case basis. After due deliberation on each appeal, based on their academic performance as well as recommendations of the DUGC and Counselling Service, the committee gave its recommendations to the Senate for its further consideration.

(Rajiv Shekhar)

Chairman, SUGC

Copy to (for information): 1. Dean, Academic Affairs